First impressions: Bakumatsu Rock

Bakumatsu Rock

I started playing otome games a few weeks ago and Bakumatsu Rock is on my soon to play list, because I’m still hooked up with Brothers Conflict ~passion pink~ *cough* Fuuto *cough*

My intention was to play it before they released its pilot episode but I guess it can’t be helped *shrugs*

So anyway, my initial reaction was, WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK?

First of all, what the heck was that time period? I did not expect that at all.

Here’s the synopsis from myanimelist:

The story is set in the Bakumatsu era, at the end of the shoguns’ rule over Japan in the middle of the 19th century. The Tokugawa shogunate uses the brainwashing Heaven’s Songs by the top idols in Shinsengumi to subjugate the country and its people. In this Japan, writing or singing any songs besides the Heaven’s Songs is a capital offense. Sakamoto Ryouma and the other rockers rise up and change the world with rock ‘n’ roll for freedom and justice.

As I was watching it, my mind was all “what the fuck is this? what the fuck is that?” seriously.

Let’s talk about the seiyuus. As I have mentioned, I fell into the seiyuu fandom hole and now I can’t get out (lol).

Sakamoto Ryouma, the main character, is voiced by Taniyama Kishou. Fondly known as Kishow, vocalist of Granrodeo. He also voiced Himuro Tatsuya of Kuroko no Basket.

Takasugi Shinsaku is voiced by Suzuki Tatsuhisa, known as Ta_2 or Tattsun, vocalist of Oldcodex and Takao Kazunari’s seiyuu.

Katsura Kogorou’s seiyuu is Morikubo Showtaro, who recently got married, by the way. Solo artist for Lantis who also handles Granrodeo and Oldcodex. Also voiced Makishima Yuusuke of Yowamushi Pedal.

Hijikita Toshizou is voiced by Morikawa Toshiyuki, seiyuu of Ugo-kun from Magi. I don’t know much about Morikawa-san so..

And lastly, Ono Kensho as Okita Souji! Kuroko Tetsuya’s seiyuu as well. Solo artist for Lantis like Sho-chan.

I noticed that they included seiyuus who were suitable for the theme “rock.” Mainly Kishow, Tattsun and Sho-chan. Kensho on the other hand, could use a little more tweaking. But his voice is pretty damn sexy as Okita Souji, I can’t deny that. It might take some time however, for me to get used to this because Kuroko is so demure and hearing him like this is asdfghjkl. I’m not so sure about Morikawa-san but I am looking forward to hearing him sing.

Kishow’s voice here is very well playful and his character is quite the happy-go lucky type. Then there’s Tattsun with his usual tsundere and always angry character. Reminds me of Kurosaki Ranmaru (Uta no Prince-sama). Honestly, I doubted that I would like Sho-chan’s character here because it was too moe for his voice. But he pulled it off and now I’m head over heels for the guy. I can sense that he’s the motherly-type in the group.

Can we just..? UGH

Seriously, too much skin bruh. Not that I’m complaining but.. what the hell? Is this how they’re really supposed to perform? (눈_눈)

Also, I thought the CG when they’re playing their instruments were kind of.. weird for me. It was like one of those Hatsune Miku thingy.. if you get what I mean. I don’t hate it, but I don’t like it either.

I did like the song they played. Kishow, Tattsun and Sho-chan’s voices blended well. Speaking of which, all three of them are in Uta no Prince-sama too! So think of it as Natsuki, Ranmaru and Reiji singing~ Ohoho~ (๑>ᴗ<๑)

Hmm, what else did I like.. Ah! The OP and ED songs. The OP song was performed by visual-kei band “vistlip” so that’s a plus. And the ED song was of course, performed by the five main character’s seiyuus.

In the end, I did like the first episode and I’d be looking forward to the next one and playing the actual game. If you’re a fan of any of these seiyuus, or at least you’ve played the game, I suggest you watch this series. Or if you simply like half-naked guys playing rock songs |ω・)و ̑̑༉

Gif set by haru-no-sekaii

5 thoughts on “First impressions: Bakumatsu Rock

Leave a Reply

